Tuesday, January 9, 2018

Book Review: The Single Girl's Calendar by Erin Green









The Single Girl's Calendar: 
A fantastic, feel-good Rom-Com



by Erin Green








A task a day to cure a broken heart.

Esmé Peel is approaching thirty with some trepidation, but hope in her heart. If she can just get her long-term boyfriend Andrew to propose, she will have ticked everything off her 'things to do by the time you're 30' list. She didn't reckon on finding another woman's earring in her bed, however, and soon she finds herself single, homeless and in need of a new plan. Her best friend Carys gives her the perfect present – The Single Girl’s Calendar – which has a different cure for heartbreak every day:


Day 1: Look and feel fabulous with a new hairstyle.



Day 2: Step out of your comfort zone and try something new.



Day 3: Reconnect with friends and enjoy!



Despite thinking it's a bit of a gimmick, Esmé hasn't got any better ideas, so she puts the plan into action. By the end of week one she has four new male housemates, and despite a broken heart she is determined to show Andrew she can do more than survive, she can thrive…

From the bestselling author of A Christmas Wish. Perfect for fans of Trisha Ashley and Carole Matthews.



My Rating:




Favorite Quotes:



Sadie. Esmé instantly hated the name, adding it to the shit list of her life.


She and Andrew were finished. She wanted it to be dignified, she wanted a clean break. As long as his testicles fell from his body after having caught a serious, yet incurable, STD which he had instantly shared with Sexy Sadie during their love tryst.


I’m sure she’s heartbroken at the thought of less washing, less ironing and an end to the stream of blondes sneaking down her staircase at the weekend…


Seven was the luckiest number. Seven colours in a rainbow. Seven dwarves helped Snow White. Seven days in a week. Even, seven horcrux in Harry Potter.


Esmé’s forte was mentioning the elephant in the room during difficult situations. Andrew’s granddad had a prosthetic leg due to his diabetes – how many times had she unconsciously referred to pirates and wooden legs whilst visiting?


Esmé tucked into every course with gusto, despite the evident scorn of four svelte models on her table, who simply pushed their forks around their plates without lifting a morsel to their mouths. Esmé proudly scraped her plate clean… The room seemed to be full of beautiful stick insects and wide shouldered hunks, all with shiny coats, clipped nails and good teeth.



My Review:




I adored this amusing, quirky, and ingenious story from beginning to end.  My interest was immediately snagged by Ms. Green’s crisp, enticing, and entertaining writing style; but it was the peculiar, eccentric, and intriguing characters that held me rapt to my Kindle.  I couldn’t get enough of this superbly written, well-constructed, unpredictable, and cleverly contrived tale.  It was divinely cheeky, irreverent, witty, humorous, emotive, and observantly insightful.  I smirked, giggle-snorted, and laughed aloud during this delightful and engaging tale; it was found treasure. 


Empress DJ




About the Author



Erin was born and raised in Warwickshire, where she resides with her husband. An avid reader since childhood, her imagination was instinctively drawn to creative writing as she grew older. Erin has two Hons degrees: BA English literature and another BSc Psychology – her previous careers have ranged from part-time waitress, the retail industry, fitness industry and education. She has an obsession about time, owns several tortoises and an infectious laugh!

Erin’s writes contemporary novels focusing on love, life, and laughter. Erin is an active member of the Romantic Novelists’ Association and was delighted to be awarded The Katie Fforde Bursary in 2017. An ideal day for Erin involves writing, people watching and drinking copious amounts of tea.


For more about Erin, visit her website: www.ErinGreenAuthor.co.uk
Twitter: @ErinGreenAuthor
Facebook author page: www.facebook.com/ErinGreenAuthor


5 comments:

  1. Giggle snorted! Must be good.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I love the review! I will check this book out for sure!

    ReplyDelete
  3. And...another book added to my TBR :) Your reviews are my weakness lol. Great one, by the way!

    Megan @ Ginger Mom & the Kindle Quest

    ReplyDelete