Saturday, October 17, 2015

Book Review, Giveaway: THE DEVIL'S MASQUERADE by Nina Mason

Today, we are hosting the blog tour for THE DEVIL'S MASQUERADE, book three in Nina Mason’s erotic historical series ROYAL PAINS. Set in Great Britain during the Restoration period, the series chronicles the sexual, marital, and political exploits of Robert and Maggie Armstrong, the Duke and Duchess of Dunwoody.

Buy it now!

Here's the blurb:
Beware the devil in disguise… 

The year is now 1685 and Maggie’s father has just been crowned King of Great Britain, but that doesn’t mean trouble is over for the Duke and Duchess of Dunwoody. Rather than cool the flames of hatred between Papists and Protestants, the coronation of a Catholic monarch has only added accelerant to the already raging blaze. Two-faced devils lurk in every corner of the royal court, as do diseases with the power to kill and maim. When Robert falls prey to the smallpox virus, it looks as though Maggie will lose the two people most precious to her—her beloved husband and their only child—the son she bore three months before after five years of heartbreaking miscarriages and stillbirths. The one person in London who can help save her son demands a steep price in exchange her services. Will Maggie trade Robert’s hard-won fidelity to save her only child…or offer the apothecary an even more scandalous alternative?

Note: ROYAL PAINS contains highly erotic content and is intended to be read in order.

Enter the rafflecopter giveaway for a chance to win signed copies of the first two books in the ROYAL PAINS series!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

My Rating:

Favorite Quote:

“For Mulgrave had an eye for more forbidden flesh than the Lady Anne’s.  Once, on some royal trip or other, his uninvited advances toward the royal mistresses got him exiled to a skiff, which was towed behind the king’s ship for the remainder of the voyage.”

My Review:

The history lesson continues with the odd vernacular that often had me giggling like pubescent teen with words like “swiving” “black bearded bog” and “pizzle.”  Ms. Mason’s stories are always well written, fully researched, lushly detailed, and lavishly described.  But I actually could have done without the in-depth depictions of the blisters and symptoms of small pox – she was a bit too thorough in her descriptions as I am still itching!  The muddled lineage and infidelities of the royal peers was dizzying, and the nastiness and pettiness depicted between the Protestants and Catholics just reaffirms my agnosticism.  I powered through all that to get to the breath stealing steamy love story between Maggie and her beloved Duke – and oh my – her education has advanced several grade levels.  But then tragedy occurred – my kindle told me I was 89% in my copy of the book and was hitting an area of intrigue in the plot when the book suddenly ended.  WHAT?!?  NOOOOO!

I am in actual pain.  I am furious. Dumbfounded.  Foaming at the mouth.  Stomping my little foot.  I am seething in indignation as one of my favorite authors has left me hanging with a heinous cliffhanger.  And it is killing me as I despise cliffhangers with the heat of a thousand suns.  It is partly my own fault, as I thought this was to be the end of the series, as this is what I usually expect going into the third book.  Silly me! 

But I love Nina Mason’s work and she has me hooked!  I am now 3 books in and fully invested.  What to do, what to do?  I have repeated every invective I know at least 3 times and thought some very unflattering things about that sneaky tart known as Nina Mason!  Sigh.  Sign me up for book 4, but please hurry Ms. Mason, post-haste!

Empress DJ

 Watch the trailer!

Check out the first two books in the ROYAL PAINS series:

About the author

Nina Mason is an incurable romantic who strives to write the same kind of books she loves to read: those that entertain, edify, educate, and enlighten.

The Devil's Masquerade is the third book in her Royal Pains series and her sixth book overall. Her seventh book, Dark and Stormy Knight, the second installment in her Knights of Avalon series, will be released by Lyrical/Kensington on Jan. 5.

No comments:

Post a Comment