Sunday, January 15, 2017

Book Review: Tangle of Strings (Sweeney Sisters #4) by Ashley Farley

Tangle of Strings

(Sweeney Sisters #4)

by Ashley Farley




Releasing January 18, 2017

A nearly tragic accident leads to a discovery that rocks the Sweeney family’s world.

Some families never resolve conflicts. Not so with the Sweeneys. Their sense of family, their love for one another, and their willingness to forgive have always triumphed and brought them back together. Until now. The latest crisis threatens to tear the family apart and crumble the foundation that has always proved itself rock solid.

At the heart of the matter are sixteen-year-old Annie Bethune and her boyfriend, Cooper. At stake are their dreams for the future. As to these dreams, no one in the family holds back when asserting an opinion.

Annie soon begins to feel like a puppet on strings with all those she loves telling her what to do. When those strings become tangled and a family feud develops, Annie, unable to bear the pressure, runs away. Straight into the arms of danger.

My Rating:

Favorite Quotes:

Heidi and Hugh had talked about everything. He knew she wore a neon-pink shade of lipstick called Candy Yum-Yum, and she knew he ate ketchup on his grits and snored when he drank whiskey.

They’re mean as hornets, don’t get me wrong.  But my mama loves them anyway. 

A vision of his driving his redneck machine down the crowded streets of Manhattan, surrounded by yellow taxicabs and big city buses, caused his daydream to come to a screeching halt.  Maybe New York wasn’t the best place for him after all. 

My Review:

I don’t think I will ever tire of the Sweeney sisters and their odd collection of extended family members.  Tangle of Strings is book four and I am more intrigued with them than ever before.  Cozy up in your favorite chair and nestle in as the plot is boiling over with twists and turns of family tension, medical complications, police action, wry humor, and a resurfacing of the diva drama llama known as the old Jackie from book one.  Poor Annie – she suffers through several trying incidents and has an extremely stressful and eventful stretch of time where she is constantly under pressure from all sides and has the entire family at odds.  Ms. Farley’s clever pen has once again produced an engaging, emotive, and thought provoking storyline.  I adore this series and as always, eagerly await the next installment. 

Empress DJ

Ashley Farley grew up in the salty marshes of South Carolina, but she now lives in Richmond, Virginia with her husband and two young adult children.

Ashley writes books about women for women. Her characters are mothers, daughters, sisters, and wives facing real-life issues.

Set in the South Carolina Lowcountry and packed with Southern charm and memorable characters, the SWEENEY SISTERS SERIES chronicles the lives of three sisters—Samantha, Jackie, and Faith—who struggle to balance the demands of career and family while remaining true to themselves.

Scottie Darden, a thirty-year-old photojournalist from Richmond, Virginia, makes impulsive decisions that lead her to trouble in the ADVENTURES OF SCOTTIE series.

Visit my website at for more information.

No comments:

Post a Comment