Friday, May 17, 2013

Hex Hall Trilogy Put A Spell On Me

Book Information:
Series: Hex Hall
Books: Hex Hall (Book #1); Demonglass (Book #2); Spell Bound (Book #3)
Author: Rachel Hawkins

Book Synopsis:
Book 1: Three years ago, Sophie Mercer discovered that she was a witch. It's gotten her into a few scrapes. Her non-gifted mother has been as supportive as possible, consulting Sophie's estranged father--an elusive European warlock--only when necessary. But when Sophie attracts too much human attention for a prom-night spell gone horribly wrong, it's her dad who decides her punishment: exile to Hex Hall, an isolated reform school for wayward Prodigium, a.k.a. witches, faeries, and shapeshifters.
By the end of her first day among fellow freak-teens, Sophie has quite a scorecard: three powerful enemies who look like supermodels, a futile crush on a gorgeous warlock, a creepy tagalong ghost, and a new roommate who happens to be the most hated person and only vampire student on campus. Worse, Sophie soon learns that a mysterious predator has been attacking students, and her only friend is the number-one suspect.
As a series of blood-curdling mysteries starts to converge, Sophie prepares for the biggest threat of all: an ancient secret society determined to destroy all Prodigium, especially her.

Book 2: Sophie Mercer 16, narrator, wants rid of the demonic powers that send her family amok. Her demon father, head of supernatural Prodigium Council, invites her to Thorne Abbey in England, to learn control, and avoid the potentially fatal Removal procedure. Her best friends come too, vampire Jenna, and Cal, 19, gardener, healer, and Sophie's official fiancĂ©. 
But someone is raising more demons. The students' island boarding school Hecate (Hex) Hall, run by Mrs Casnoff, is at the center of the trouble. Sophie's former crush Archer was disclosed as an enemy agent. The Prodigium want him dead; The Eye want Sophie dead. Who can she trust?

Book 3: Just as Sophie Mercer has come to accept her extraordinary magical powers as a demon, the Prodigium Council strips them away. Now Sophie is defenseless, alone, and at the mercy of her sworn enemies—the Brannicks, a family of warrior women who hunt down the Prodigium. Or at least that’s what Sophie thinks, until she makes a surprising discovery. The Brannicks know an epic war is coming, and they believe Sophie is the only one powerful enough to stop the world from ending. But without her magic, Sophie isn’t as confident.

Sophie’s bound for one hell of a ride—can she get her powers back before it’s too late?

Book 1 Review:
Everyone knows about Harry Potter, I mean who doesn't love the story of a wizard who has lived a hard unknowing life, allows you to feel pity for them and love them more. Well if you're looking for a character with a sob story like this, you have somewhat come to the right place. If you read the book you will understand the misunderstood elements of our protagonist Sophie. The characters were easy to fall in love with, from the strong headed Sophie, to her misunderstood best friend Jenna. Let's not forget about the beauties of the school who dark witches Anna, Chaston and Elodie. As well as not one, but two hunks. By name: Cal and Archer. With plot twists and turns, a "long lost" family member coming to pay a visit to Sophie and near deaths happening on campus, you can be sure this book will keep you on your toes. 

Book 2 Review:
Book 2 takes you off to a new location, a great way to keep you happy with a simple change of scenery. We get more character development which is a great plus. However, don't expect things to get simpler for our characters are new ones are introduced, and stay on your toes because there is no way to know who you can truly trust anymore. All in all, this book was a great edition to the first book in all its glory. There are more demons in the world now, so you will definitely be entertained. 

Book 3 Review:

The final installment in this amazing trilogy will test everything you know about this series for the rest of your life. There are more demons than ever before, none willingly becoming so. Heritages are being embraced, as well as facing the depths of hell. In the end, people are lost. I smiled when they were happy, upset when they felt anger and cried when the pain was too unbearable for me to release it anymore. I felt an attachment to the characters I have rarely felt in a series, and you will be upset when it is over because you will always more. The need to continue your connection with the people you have followed through every step will eat at you until you come to terms that the series is over. All in all, this last book was everything I had hoped for and more.

Final Words: 

You will fall in love with this series like a little amount you have before and possibly will after. You will not be disappointed.

Author Contact:

Buy the series on:

Book 1:
Book 2:
Book 3:


Book 1:
Book 2:
Book 3:

Barnes and Noble:

Book 1:
Book 2:
Book 3:

No comments:

Post a Comment