Tuesday, July 4, 2017

Book Review, Giveaway: Broken Lyric - Meltdown Series #2 by RB Hilliard

Title: Broken Lyric
Series: Meltdown Series #2
Author: RB Hilliard
Genre: Romantic Suspense/Rock


Nash Bostwick is the sexy, playboy lead guitarist of the world renowned band, Meltdown. He doesn’t do love, because love only leads to pain.
Then he meets Rowan… Rowan Burns is running. Her secrets are deep and her past is deadly. She doesn’t have time for love, nor does she want it. Then she meets Nash… When Nash and Rowan finally take a chance on love, a family tragedy threatens to derail Nash’s career. In his search for answers he pushes Rowan away. By the time Nash realizes what he’s done, it might just be too late…

"RB Hilliard has expertly woven a tale of mystery and suspense with an ending you'll never see coming. Broken Lyric is a profound love story that will leave you breathless. This is a must summer read." - USA Today and NYT bestselling author, L. Wilder

"RB paints a world I've always found easy to get lost in, but these characters kept me with them after I put the book down." - AC Bextor, best selling author of KEPT: A Second Chance Fairy Tale and Lights of Peril

"RB Hilliard's Meltdown series continues to deliver with fast paced, well written plots and endings that surprise every time." - Pet's $0.02 Love N Books

"RB Hilliard has taken this rocker romance and turned it into a thrilling suspense ride that will keep you guessing until the very end. 5 star must read!!" - Book Club Gone Wrong

My Rating:

Favorite Quotes:

I may be sailing down that river called deNile with a hole in my boat and only half a paddle, but I wasn’t stupid.

Glad you’re okay nursey. Nash would have been a total dick-cheese if he’d lost you. Not that he’s not a dick-cheese now, but he would have been even more of one.

My Review:

Broken Lyric wove a complicated and unsettling web of deceit, obsession, secret identities, murders, regrets, and grief.  The storyline was full of tension, suspense, stalkers, conflict, and a large cast of complex characters, a bit too many for me as I got a bit confused, and then a little lost, but I stuck with it and eventually found my way back and thankfully the complicated twists were rehashed and explained by one character near the end.  The story was certainly eventful, heaving with drama, and totally unpredictable; I never saw it coming nor could I have figured it out on my own.  Tucked amongst all the tension were welcome glimpses of humor and steam, I lived for those brighter moments and considered them respite from all the angst and brewing apprehension.

Empress DJ

RB Hilliard lives in Charlotte, North Carolina with her husband and two children. Her love of the written word led her to pursue a degree in English and later a career as an academic language therapist. In 2012 she took a break from teaching and began writing her first novel, His End Game. Hilliard has published five books in her MMG Series, as well as Utterly Forgettable, a romantic comedy and Fractured Beat, the first in her Meltdown Series.


No comments:

Post a Comment